AISD INNOVATION DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE Summary of Regular Meeting February 9, 2022

Members Attendance

(See attached list)

Others in Attendance

Leslie Stephens – Chief Officer of Human Capital

Dr. Anthony Mays – Chief Officer of School Leadership

Dr. Jacob Reach – Chief Officer of Intergovernmental Relations & Board Services

Brandi Hosack – Assistant Superintendent of Human Capital

Carolyn Hanschen – Executive Director of Accountability/PEIMS

Yvette Cardenas – Director of Elementary Multilingual Education

PROCEEDINGS

Preliminaries

• The virtual meeting via Zoom was called to order by Dr. Jacob Reach at 5:30pm

Public Comment

There were no public comments

Reviewing a District of Innovation Plan

- Plans stay in effect for 5 years
- TEA Chapter 12A defines the various items that must be included
- We must review all sections and post for 30 days, notify the TEA Commissioner, and the DAC must consider / approve
- No comment as to this process

Current District of Innovation / Updates

- Review the historical aspect of the plan and our charge of the committee
- Discussed each of the 5 current exemptions
- Reviewed the new additions.
 - Teacher reciprocity, HB 4545 Student Teachers Tutoring, Addition of Math & Science certifications
- Committee member asked if we could add all 4 core areas to the exemption a district official address this and stated that is was not needed.
- Committee member asked if SPED could be exempted for certification a district official stated that it was not allow due to the federal funding for SPED teachers

- Committee member asked about planning time and 7/8 and if it related to this plan a district official stated that 7/8 is not considered for the DOI
- Committee member asked about Attendance and 90% rule A district official explained that the difference was between excused absences for illness and unexcused absence.

Conclusion

• The meeting was adjourned by Stephanie McGraw at 6:45 pm.

Membership Attendance

IDAC Members Feb. 9th	Present/Absent		
Debra Austrum	Absent		
Katrina Bailey	Present		
Jessica Bazan	Absent		
Carmen Castaneda	Present		
Genevieve Dell	Absent		
Etzel Garcia	Absent		
Shelly Grabe	Present		
Alberto Gonzalez	Absent		
Nevin Hall	Present		
Nicole Hepburn	Absent		
Richard Kelly	Absent		
Dr. Dru McGovern-Robinett	Present		
Paul Mitchell	Present		
Heather Petruzzini	Present		
Oscar Rodriguez	Present		
Heather Shaw	Absent		
David Smith	Absent		
Lori Solis	Present		
Suki Steinhauser	Present		
Juilo Villaneda	Absent		
Nisha Vishag	Present		
Melinda Vandorn	Present		
Dr. Suzanne Villalpando	Present		
Keya Wallace	Present		
Joseph Welch	Absent		
Snow White	Present		
Dr. Gloria Williams	Present		
Zane Wolf	Present		
Ken Zafaris	Absent		